41 Lexington Two students named Myrdis Walker Scholars

From Dawn Kujawa – Lexington Two Communications – Forty-one Lexington Two students are being honored as 2020-21 Myrdis Walker Scholars.

Myrdis Walker

The district program, established in 1990, recognizes African-American students in eighth through 12th grades who have demonstrated academic excellence.  It is named for Myrdis Walker, who taught for many years at the former R. Earle Davis Elementary School in Lexington Two.

This year’s inductees from the district’s two high schools and four middle schools include:

Airport High School: Hazia Bethea, Tinaye Watson Wesley

Brookland-Cayce High School: John Kelly, Sofiane Lachab, Aiyanna Lane, Amari Lykes, Jimani Moore, Zyon Robinson,  Miracle Wortherly

Busbee Creative Arts Academy: David Daniels, JaVaughn Moore, Jhurmani Murphy, Austin Sullivan, Kalvin Valentine,  Amber Way

Fulmer Middle School: William Beamer, Ja’sia Booth, Corey Campbell, Alyssa Ceacal, Christian Earl, Infiniti Guess, Brianna Harris, Erin Jones, Rayne-Marie Morris, Shamari Rogers, Jacob Terrell, Timothy Weston

Northside Middle School: Reign Aligbe, Jaiden Baskett, Jantz Bryant, Jasmine Hart, Izeah Marcyes, Zahria Moser, Kelsey Sharperson, Ny’yanna Wilson

Pine Ridge Middle School: Camya Bailey, Caleb Ford, Yamahni Johnson, Avery Jones, Mya Taylor, Jaylynn Spires

Amid COVID-19, students will be recognized at their schools, rather than through the annual district-wide ceremony.