13 Lexington 2 middle school students named SC Junior Scholars

Thirteen Lexington Two middle school students have been named South Carolina Junior Scholars.

The program, developed by the SC Department of Education, identifies eighth-graders with high scholastic achievement and intellectual ability through PSAT/NMSQT testing and other criteria, and sponsors special opportunities through South Carolina colleges and universities, as well as the Governor’s School for Science and Math, according to the department website.

Lexington Two’s Junior Scholars include: 

  • Busbee Creative Arts Academy: Jayson Mikkleson, Lily Petermann 
  • Fulmer Middle School:  Carly Bryant, Anthony Carr, Avery McCree, Olivia McIntosh, Creighton Pumphrey 
  • Northside Middle School: Elliot Bridges, Ariyana Kyzer, Andrew Roberts, Emma Sturkie 
  • Pine Ridge Middle School: Jaquan Huggins, Caroline Zueger

The students will be recognized at the April 28 Board of Trustees meeting.